Joker Game is a thought provoking insight into WWII era Japan. It follows a group of Japanese spies assigned to various missions around the world. Each episode (or 2 episodes) follows a specific story, while there’s also an over arcing story debating the the necessity of espionage (or war) in the first place.

As a pseudo history buff I always enjoy anime set in specific periods throughout history. WWII is typically a common one among many different anime but few approach it from the espionage angle, most simply focus on the war as it’s commonly thought of. The mind games present in every episode kept me on my toes as I tried to play along and sleuth out the truth within the lies. Definitely a must see for any fans of mystery or any history buffs who love a good spy story.

Number of times watched: 1

Would I recommend it?: Yes

