Mushishi is the anime I would most liken to a hidden gem. While it’s style and pace may not be to everyone’s liking, the unique and fascinating stories covered from episode to episode brought out a childlike wonder in me that I thought I had long since left behind. Each episode felt as though it had been taken from a book of Japanese legends, explaining why nature works the way it does. There are many breath taking scenes displayed throughout the various seasons, and none of the dozens of stories felt dry or formulaic.

The ancient Japan that Mushishi brings to life is a captivating world that I found myself getting swept away in from the first episode onward. While you won’t find much action or any giant robots, this anime is definitely worth the watch!

Number of times watched: 2

Would I recommend it?: Absolutely!

