My Hero Academia has been receiving praise as “the next great shonen” following in the footsteps of Naruto and One Piece, and every bit of that praise is deserved. Following Izuku Midoriya (aka Deku), the story is set in the distant future where over 80% of the populace has some sort of super power, known as a Quirk. Naturally, such a world has given rise to a new career, professional heroes! Izuku has spent his entire life wanting nothing more than to become a hero himself, but he was born without a Quirk and thus considered incapable of the job. However, when he meets his idol All Might, an opportunity reveals itself for Izuku to follow his dreams!

I don’t think I have ever become as emotionally attached to a character as quickly as I did to Deku. Not only Deku but every character (and there are a lot of them) feel vibrantly unique and they all have a story to tell. On top of the excellent character design, the score is incredible and does possibly the best job of any anime I’ve ever watched at highlighting the emotion in every scene. By the end of episode one I was tearing up and almost every single episode had scenes just as powerful. With season 2 just around the corner this is an absolute must watch!

Number of times watched: 1

Would I recommend it?: Absolutely!

